Koktail Report: Travelling without a Visa for Thai Passport Holders 2023

Here are more countries to cross of your bucket list of world adventures

If you’re planning on travelling abroad but you’re not up for all that drama to acquire a visa, here’s a list of free-visa countries for Thailand passport holders. As of June 2023, the Thai passport ranks 106th in the world, according to the VisaGuide Passport Index. Thai citizens can travel visa-free to 47 countries in the world.

Koktail has created a comprehensive guide on visa requirements for Thai passport holders which not only includes visa-free countries but also eVisas as well as visa on arrival.

Where Can Thai Passport Holders Travel Without a Visa?

The following 47 countries shows all the visa-exempt countries for Thailand citizens:

Albania, Argentina, Barbados, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Cook Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, Georgia, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Niue, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Türkiye, Vanuatu, Vietnam

Keep in mind: It is important to recognize that the duration of stay and permissible purposes for travel for Thailand citizens in each country are subject to the respective nation's visa regulations.

What Countries Issue eVisas to Thai Citizens?

The following 21 countries issues eVisas for Thai passport holders:

Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Benin, Colombia, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, India, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Moldova, Montserrat, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Zimbabwe

Keep in mind: The difference between applying for a traditional visa and an eVisa is that you don’t have to visit a visa application centre for an eVisa. You can submit your visa application online and pay online as well. Once your visa is approved, you’ll receive an email confirming your visa with a document to print out when crossing the border.

What Countries Issue Visa on Arrival to Thai Passport Holders?

The following 34 countries issues visa on arrival for Thai passport holders:

Armenia, Bahrain, Bolivia, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Saint Lucia, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Zambia

Keep in mind: After entering the country, you’ll receive a visa on arrival (VOA). A visa on arrival is simply a visa that is granted when you arrive in a foreign country. It is issued to foreign nationals who need a visa to enter the country but does not require them to apply in advance of travel. This is made available to travellers visiting for short-term visits.